Wednesday, 7 November 2007


The word ‘chakra’ is Sanskrit for wheel or disk and signifies one of seven basic energy centers in the body. Each of these centers correlates to major nerve ganglia branching forth from the spinal column. In addition the chakras also correlate to levels of consciousness, archetypal elements, developmental stages of life, colors, sounds, body functions, and much, much more.

I believe Chakradance™ explains it best:

“A chakra is a spinning vortex of energy. A human being’s energy field is complex and multi-layered, and includes subtle energies which western science has only recently begun to detect. Chakras are the energetic gateways through which our various subtle energies interflow. Like electricity, chakras are invisible to the naked eye.

Every human being has 7 major chakras and many hundreds of minor ones. Together, they are the network through which mind, body and spirit interact as one holistic system.

Each chakra represents an aspect of consciousness vital to our lives (safety, sexuality, power, love, communication, intuition and self realisation). Physiologically, each chakra is connected to physical organs and endocrine glands, the health functions of which are directly affected by the state of the corresponding chakra.

We can think of the chakras as energetic floppy disks, each containing vital programmes influencing the various aspects of our lives. Some of our programming may be positive, affecting our health, emotions, thoughts and behaviour in a positive manner; others may be negative, having the reverse effect.”

The ideal state is where the chakras are balanced. To find out what the state of your chakras is, do the chakra test.

See participant's results here:
  1. Mich
  2. Hélène Deroubaix


Hélène Deroubaix said...

I feel naked when I do tests like these:P
am I balanced, it seems, not perfect just a human fae child ^_^

blessings to you Mich!

Hope Springs said...

Took the test. I seem to be open in nearly all my chakras but a little to stuck in my fantasy life. But hey, I'm a writer! That's normal isn't it?? LOL

Angela said...

I took the test as well. My root and naval chakras were somewhat underactive which really came as no surprise to me. The rest are open. Great site and I'll be working on the meditations to help open those two underactive ones. I'm really glad you're doing this Michelle. I think it's going to be so helpfu.